Hand Carved Stamps

“It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare; It is because we do not dare that they are difficult.”  ~ Seneca

I’ve been wanting to carve my own stamps for a while now.  I bought the supplies last week, but was really nervous to start.  Looking back, it seems so silly!  These were ridiculously easy.  I used Speedball Speedy-Carve as the stamp material and a linoleum cutter to make the design.  Cutting into the stamp was like cutting into butter!

Here is a run down of the process I used.

Make a sketch in charcoal.  I just sketched on regular watercolor paper from my journal.

IMG_3414

Place the sketch face down onto the stamp material and rub along the back.  You could use a credit card, brayer or that blue thingy in my picture that I have no clue what it’s name is.

IMG_3401

Next, take a linoleum cutter and “scoop out” the drawn lines.  You could also do the reverse of this and scoop out everything but the drawn lines.  I’m thinking I may do that on the back side?  After that, I cut around the stamp design with one of the attachments for my linoleum cutter.  You could use an Exacto knife for this, too.

IMG_3413

Make a few test stamps, do additional cutting if needed.  Voila.

IMG_3410

IMG_3411

Then be ready to start number two, because as soon as you are done, you WILL be addicted.

IMG_3407

IMG_3404

IMG_3405

Annnnd number 3:

IMG_3447

I have enough stamp material left to do another 4 stamps (plus a few small ones). 7+ unique stamps (14 if you carve the backs) for $13 is a screaming deal!

Started a few journal pages playing around with the new stamps… I can easily see this becoming a new obsession!

IMG_3441

(Find your roots. Reach your petals towards the sun. bloom.)

IMG_3442

IMG_3444

IMG_3445

13 thoughts on “Hand Carved Stamps

  1. I so want to do this…I have been drooling over the speedball tool at Hobby Lobby…I think I make take the plunge over Winter break…it is so worth it!!! Love what you did here!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Beautiful! I used to use erasers to carve with Xacto blades. You can get really intricate. Makes me want to break out that box of stuff!

  3. Super cool! I have a some materials on hand to try this, but have not yet given it a go. I used to do linoleum carving prints once upon a time, so I still have the tools. On my “to-do-soon” list! Thanks for the inspiration, Carly 🙂

  4. As I read this I am reaching for a potato, haha! Thank you for the inspiration and for stopping by my blog space 🙂 I looking forward to reading more of ur blog! x

  5. Pingback: Summertime | True Color

  6. Pingback: Trust Your Inner Voice | True Color

  7. Pingback: Carving Geometric Stamps: A Tutorial | True Color

  8. Pingback: Would you? | True Color

  9. Pingback: A Mixed Media Canvas: Dream | True Color

  10. Pingback: ICAD 2013 | True Color

Leave a comment